Friday, May 4, 2012

Host families needed for 4-H Japan Exchange program!

Summer 2012
4-H has a wonderful opportunity for Michigan families to host a youth from Japan this summer. We are looking for families that have children between the ages of 10 and 16 to host a Japanese delegate (who are ages 12-16).  The Japanese youth live with your family between July 22 and August 18.  They are most interested in learning about the day-to-day life of American families, so there is no need to plan "special" activities or trips.  Please consider participating in this amazing, life changing experience!  

Youth delegate pictures and profiles can be viewed here:

Host Family Application Packets are available to download here:

For more information, visit the Michigan 4-H International Exchange Programs website:

Meet the delegates and get updates:  "like" the Michigan 4-H International Exchange Facebook page: 

Here's a sample of some of the delegates that will be coming to Michigan this summer!  See the rest here:

ID-Code:  KNG-042
Age: 12  -  Gender: Male

Likes playing tennis, fishing, cycling, soccer, reading comics and playing games.  Would like to play tennis with host family, make many friends , and teach host family about Japan and Japanese culture.  Described as cheerful, tolerant, and laughs a lot.  Allergic to pollen (cedar).

ID-Code: KNG-020
Age: 13  -  Gender: Female

Belongs to the art club in junior high school.  Her hobby is drawing illustrations.  Would enjoy talking with host family and would like to go shopping, swimming, camping, and listen to music.  Described as talkative and laughs a lot.

ID-Code: SPK-007
Age: 14  -  Gender: Female

Loves dancing (especially hip-hop) and music.  Would like to experience everyday life in the U.S. and know the difference from Japan.  Would like to share Japanese culture with host family.  Would like to share Japanese tea ceremony with hosts.  Described as curious, cheerful, talkative, and sociable and laughs a lot.  

ID-Code: YAM-003
Age: 13  -  Gender: Male

Hobbies include swimming, reading, playing outdoors with friends and pets, listening to music and camping.  Would like to stay at a farmhouse and take care of animals.  Wants to eat American food like hamburgers and steak.  Described as curious and shy.  Can host in 2013. 

No comments:

Post a Comment